Weekly Workouts 9/14 – 9/20 and 9/21 – 9/27/15

It’s been a couple of weeks and I owe you some weekly reviews. The first one will be very quick as I didn’t exercise for 10 days after the triathlon. I gradually felt like crap, having lost the battle with the cold/sinus infection. I had also lost my mojo for exercise and wasn’t sure when I would find it again.

Thankfully, I started to feel better on Wednesday of last week and could breathe enough to exercise. I’m feeling close enough to back-to-normal now that I’m ramping up my workouts again, focusing on running. My husband’s ankle is feeling better now and he agreed to run the Turkey Trot 8K with my brother-in-law and I. This means that we both need to increase our mileage again. We’ve got 8 weeks left and I’m confident that we’ll get there. I won’t be fast, but I’ll be able to run the entire race.

I’ve got a ways to go so we are starting off slow. I lost a lot of my endurance and don’t want to push too quickly. I don’t have access to a pool right now so swimming will have to wait another week or two.

Weekly Workouts 9/14 – 9/20/15:

No Exercise

Weekly Workouts 9/21 – 9/27/15:

Monday – Rest Day

Tuesday – Rest Day

Wednesday – Rest Day

Thursday – Ran 1.5 miles with my husband around the neighborhood. I was wheezing throughout the run and my lungs hurt. By the end of the run, it felt like they were being squeezed in a vise. My husband was trying to be supportive and encouraging, but I told him it was best if I didn’t talk. I had a case of the grumpies. 😦

Friday – Rest Day

Saturday – Wanted to run on a softer surface so I went to the local rail trail. I ran 1.5 miles, walked 1/4 mile, ran 1/4 mile, and finished up with a 1/4 mile walk. My legs were a little sore from getting back into running on Thursday, but were fine once I got going.

Sunday – Rest Day

Things I did well: So glad to be feeling better and back to exercise after the triathlon! It was looking bleak there for awhile and I was enjoying the laziness a little too much. I’ve been having green juice and/or green smoothies at least 5 days a week. I make one for my sister every weekday so it’s just as easy to make myself a little, too. 🙂

IMG_2644

Things to work on: Make exercise a regular activity again. I miss my bike!

Leave a comment